Patricia Petibon: French Lounge

Patricia Petibon: French Lounge
Opera/Classical | 1 CD | APE, none LOG, none CUE | 304 MB
Publisher: Decca | RapidShare
Yves Abel, Karine Deshayes, Choeur de l'Opera National de Lyon, Patricia Petibon, Orchestre de l'Opera National de Lyon

This was Patricia Petibon's debut album for Decca but she had already made some impressive recordings for Virgin Veritas since her professional debut in 1996. She has a very distinctive, crystal like voice and in this recital she demonstrates its purity of expression in a collection of French arias. Being French herself, Pettibon is well steeped in this repertoire (she has appeared as the doll in Les Contes d'Hoffmann) and the music is quite diverse. It includes popular favourites such as the 'Bell Song' and the Flower Duet (both particularly suited to Pettibon's voice) from Delibes' Lakme and the famous 'Barcarolle' from Les Contes d'Hoffmann. Alongside these are arias from Messager's wonderful operas (a composer long overdue for reassessment), Chabrier's L'Etoile and the beautiful 'Je veux vivre' from Gounod's Romeo ed Juliette amongst others.

"Petibon has the proper measure of Massenet's Manon: meltingly innocent in 'Adieu notre petite table' and heartlessly brazen in the Gavotte. The 'Bell Song' from Lakmé is suffused with an unexpected lyrical nostalgia. And Olympia's aria from The Tales of Hoffmann takes her into territory where no coloratura has ever boldly gone." (BBC Music Magazine)


01. Ah Je Veux Vivre
02. Lorsque Je N Etais Qu Une Enfant
03. Fai Deux Amants
04. Les Filles De Gadix
05. Fleurs Flower Duet Blumenduett
06. Air Des Elochettes Bell Song Glocken Aire
07. Aidier Norte Petite Table
08. Je Marche Sur Tours Les Ehemins Obeisson Quand Keur
09. Air De Lafee
10. Couples D Olympia Doll Pupperaine
11. Bareolle
12. Romance De L Estoile
13. Couples De Lazuli
14. Je T Aime

Download APE

No comments:

Post a Comment